Natural Foods Merchandiser
Natural Products Association announces annual awards

Natural Products Association announces annual awards

The Natural Products Association announced its annual awards June 16 at the NPA MarketPlace trade show in Las Vegas. Here's who was honored.

The Natural Products Association gathered Saturday morning for its annual meeting and to honor industry colleagues, bestowing the following honors.

NPA President’s Award: Dr. Michael Murray, ND, of Natural Factors. The president’s award highlights an individual or company that has made longtime contributions to industry.

Burton Kallman Scientific Award: James E. Simon, PhD, of Rutgers. The scientific award goes to an individual for outstanding achievement in science related to the natural products industry.

Rachel Carson Environmental Award: Will Allen of Growing Power. The environmental award honors an individual or company that has made significant contributions to the environmental community.

Clinician Award: Drs. Joseph E. Pizzorno Jr. and Leanna J. Standish of Bastyr University. The award is presented to a licensed health care practitioner whose work exemplifies the best standards and dedication to responsible holistic, non-invasive and integrative/complementary/alternative-medicine modalities.

Industry Champions: Dr. Keith Kantor of Service Foods, Patrick Rea of Nutrition Business Journal, Drake Sadler of Traditional Medicinals and Curt Valva of Aubrey Organics. The honor is presented to individuals who have made notable contributions to industry above and beyond commercial success.

Socially Responsible Retailer Award: Jimbo’s … Naturally! The award goes to a retail store or stores within the industry demonstrating key aspects of social responsibility.

Lifetime Achievement Award: John R. Carlson (posthumous) of J.R. Carlson Laboratories.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.