NSF International announces Food Safety Award winners

NSF International, a not-for-profit food safety group has announced the winners of its annual Food Safety Leadership Awards. The six winners in various categories were evaluated on creativity, innovation, design and the contributions made to the advancement of food safety.

The categories were Training, Equipment Design, System Improvement, and Education. Among the winners were the California Strawberry Commission in the training division; Intralox, a conveyor system manufacturer in equipment design; the Royal Commission of Jubail and Yanbu, a Saudi Arabian governmental organization, and the Southern Nevada Health District, both in system improvement


In addition to these organizational winners, two individuals were recognized in the education category: William Marer, an attorney specializing in foodborne illnesses, and Catherine H. Strohbehn, Phd, of Iowa State University, who has developed an interactive online food safety curriculum.

For more on the awards, go the the NSF web site

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.