New Hope Network is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

NBTY creates Scientific Advisory Council

The Council represents expertise in a variety of disciplines, including Nutrition Epidemiology, Alternative Medicine and Herbs, Food Science, Sports Nutrition and more.

NBTY, Inc., a global manufacturer, marketer, distributor and retailer of vitamins and nutritional supplements, announced today the formation of a Scientific Advisory Council. The Council, which is comprised of some of the most respected medical and nutrition experts in the field, will provide guidance to the Company as it looks to become the most recognized global leader in wellness products.

The Council represents expertise in a variety of disciplines, including Nutrition Epidemiology, Alternative Medicine and Herbs, Food Science, Sports Nutrition and more. Chaired by Dr. David L. Katz, founding director of Yale University's Prevention Research Center, the group will provide tactical insight into nutrition and health trends, assist NBTY in advancing its global scientific efforts, and provide guidance and feedback on new product development and innovation, among other things.

"Science is at the heart of our business. Scientific research is what drives the development of all of our trusted products and brands and what serves as the foundation of our innovation and our success," said Steve Cahillane, President & CEO of NBTY. "We are excited to have attracted a highly respected and influential panel of experts, whose collaboration and guidance will be invaluable as we take the company to the next level of industry leadership."

Dr. David L. Katz said, "This type of cross-disciplinary collaboration is fantastic for industry development, achievement and advancement. Being able to engage in discussion and debate with leaders in so many different areas of academia and discipline will be informative and useful to all of the members of the Council and to NBTY."

"Maintaining our high-quality standards, whether we are talking about the ingredients, the manufacturing processes or the scientific data that supports each of our products, is of the utmost importance to us," said Dr. Susan Hazels Mitmesser, Director of Nutrition Research at NBTY. "We are honored to have the expertise of this Council available to us and look forward to the exciting innovations that collaboration with these great minds will bring."

Members of the NBTY Scientific Advisory Council are:

David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP is the Chair of the NBTY Scientific Advisory Council. He is founding director of Yale University's Prevention Research Center, President of the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, Editor in Chief of the Journal Childhood Obesity, Chief Science Officer for NuVal LLC and director of the Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital. A two-time diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine and a Board Certified Specialist in Preventive Medicine /Public Health, he is recognized globally for expertise in nutrition, weight management, and the prevention of chronic disease.

Tom (J. Thomas) Brenna, PhD, is a Professor of Human Nutrition, Chemistry, Chemical Biology, and Food Science and Technology at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. He is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Public Health Sciences at the University of Rochester (NY) School of Medicine and Dentistry. His area of expertise is in the area of fatty acids.

Martin H. Floch, MD, MACG, FACP, AGAF, is a Clinical Professor of Medicine at Yale University School of Medicine and was Director of Ambulatory GI Services in the Digestive Disease Section at Yale from 2005-2011. Dr. Floch is renowned for his work in the field of probiotics.

Gilbert Leveille, PhD, is the President of Leveille Associates, a consultant firm in Nutrition and Food Science. He is a member of several scientific advisory boards including the McCormick Science Institute and several university Food Science and Nutrition departments including the University of Massachusetts, Louisiana State University, Rutgers University and the University of Illinois.

Diane L. McKay, PhD, FACN, is the Director of the Graduate Certificate Program, an Assistant Professor in the Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy, and a Scientist in the Antioxidants Research Laboratory at the Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging (HNRCA) at Tufts University in Boston. She specializes in food science and is often quoted in popular media, including National Public Radio, U.S. News and World Report, Good Housekeeping, and other outlets.

David Nieman, DrPH, is a Professor in the College of Health Sciences at Appalachian State University and the Director of the Human Performance Lab at the North Carolina Research Campus (NCRC) in Kannapolis, NC. Dr. Nieman is a pioneer in the research area of exercise immunology.

Aviva Romm, MD, is a Board Certified Family Physician, midwife, herbalist, and the creator of Herbal Medicine for Women, a distance-learning course with over 900 students around the world. An internationally respected authority on botanical and functional medicine for women and children, with 30 years of clinical experience, she is the author of 7 books on natural medicine, including Botanical Medicine for Women's Health, and winner of the American Botanical Council's James Duke Award.

Susan Hazels Mitmesser, PhD, is the Director of Nutrition Research at NBTY and serves as the NBTY representative on the Council. She provides strategic scientific leadership for innovation and new product development and ensures the scientific integrity of all brands and products. Dr. Mitmesser is also an Adjunct Professor in the College of Family Medicine at Stony Brook University.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.