AHPA Celebrates 25th Anniversary by Feting Founders and Board Chairs

(March 21, 2007, Silver Spring, MD) — The American Herbal Products Association (AHPA) kicked off a year of celebrating its 25th anniversary by honoring several of those who helped to found the association in 1982 and the former Board chairs who have led it since.

At a reception held on March 9 in Anaheim, California, in conjunction with Natural Products Expo West, AHPA honored seven Founding Members, companies that were actively involved in the decision to create AHPA and continue their active involvement as members today:

  • BI Nutraceuticals
  • Bio-Botanica
  • Celestial Seasonings
  • KHL Flavors, Inc.
  • Nature's Sunshine Products, Inc.
  • Nature's Way Products, Inc.
  • Traditional Medicinals

AHPA also honored four individual Founding Friends to acknowledge the important role each filled at AHPA's founding and their continuing professional activities in support of the herbal industry. These friends are Mark Blumenthal, Loren Israelsen, Lynda LeMole, and Rob McCaleb.

During the past 25 years, AHPA has established itself as an essential force in the herbal, botanical and dietary supplement trade, serving as an industry advocate and as a forum within the herbal community for representation, education, communication and self-regulation. Much as AHPA's founders envisioned in 1982, AHPA has developed a special focus on supporting and understanding the special needs of companies that manufacture and market herbs and herbal products.

Those who have served as the association's board chair over the past 25 years were also honored:

  • Peter Landes
  • Lynda LeMole
  • Peggy Brevoort
  • Michael McGuffin
  • Daniel Gagnon
  • Rory Mahony
  • Jim Sealander
  • Beth Lambert
  • James Fischer
  • Edward Fletcher

AHPA expresses special thanks to the generous support of member sponsors, Chromadex and Poms & Associates Insurance Brokers!

Contact: Karen Robin, Director of Communications
American Herbal Products Association
Telephone: (301) 588-1171, x-107
Email: [email protected]
Celebrating 25 years! 1982-2007

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.