New Hope Network is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

CRN Celebrates Industry Leaders at 2008 Annual Conference

Adrianne Bendich, Ph.D., of GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and Byron Johnson of Amway/Nutrilite were awarded the prestigious “CRN (Steuben) Apple” awards by the Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN) at The Conference, CRN’s annual symposium for the dietary supplement industry. The award, CRN’s highest honor, is given to individuals who have demonstrated long-term commitment and outstanding service to CRN and the dietary supplement industry.

During the ceremony held over the weekend at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa in Santa Ana Pueblo, N.M., Steve Mister, CRN president and CEO, praised both recipients for their contributions to the dietary supplement industry. He also thanked Marjorie Fine of Shaklee Corporation, for her accomplishments during her two-year term as the CRN chairperson, a term which goes through the end of December.

Dr. Bendich is the clinical director, medical affairs at GSK. With over 25 years of experience in the dietary supplement industry, Dr. Bendich is an internationally-recognized authority in women’s health issues involving nutrition, and for the past decade has led the GSK research team that provided calcium and Vitamin D to the Women’s Health Initiative. In addition to serving on the editorial board of The Journal of Nutrition, the Journal of Women’s Health and the Journal of Nutrition and Immunology, Dr. Bendich is the only person to serve continuously as a dietary supplement industry reviewer for the National Institute of Health’s Office of Dietary Supplements annual bibliography since its inception. Dr. Bendich has authored over 150 scientific articles in peer reviewed journals, and has edited over a dozen books for nutrition professionals.

Mr. Johnson is the nutrition regulatory policy director for Amway/Nutrilite, where he first began his career over 25 years ago. Previously, he has served as the nutrition and wellness industry relations director for the company, as well as vice president and general counsel. In his current position, Mr. Johnson is responsible for regulatory and corporate compliance matters, as well as trade association participation pertaining to food and dietary supplement policy, a responsibility he has particularly excelled at. Earlier this year, Mr. Johnson was elected the chairman of the International Alliance of Food/Dietary Supplement Associations, where he has been an active participant in the organization’s regulatory, scientific and advocacy affairs since its inception in 1998. Mr. Johnson served as the Chairman of CRN from 2003-2004, and currently remains an active member on the CRN Board of Directors.

Recent past CRN Apple Award winners include 2007 winners: Mark Blumenthal of the American Botanical Council; Randi Neiner, Ph.D., of Shaklee Corporation; and Carolyn Sabatini of Pharmavite LLC; 2006 winners: Gail Becker of GBA Health Communications; Patricia Knight, formerly chief of staff to Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT); and Eugene Lambert of the Covington & Burling law firm; 2005 winners: Joy Joseph, formerly of Pharmavite LLC; Ed Croom, Ph.D., of Indena USA; and John Hathcock, Ph.D. of CRN.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.