Industry Experts Honored at CRN 2005 Annual Conference

WASHINGTON, D.C., September 26, 2005 — The Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN) awarded its prestigious "CRN (Steuben) Apple" to three prominent dietary supplement executives during an awards presentation ceremony yesterday at The Conference, CRN’s annual symposium on dietary supplements being held at The Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa in Indian Wells, Calif. This year’s "CRN Apple" recipients are Ed Croom, Ph.D., of Indena USA, Inc.; Joy Joseph, formerly of Pharmavite LLC; and John Hathcock Ph.D., CRN.

The "CRN Apple" award is presented annually by CRN in recognition of an individual’s dedication, commitment and service to CRN and the dietary supplement industry.

Dr. Croom, consultant, scientific and regulatory affairs for Indena USA East, was instrumental in helping CRN form a botanicals committee, serving as committee chair. He also was elected to the CRN Board of Directors. A longtime advocate of improved quality control for botanicals as well as more rigorous substantiation of claims, Dr. Croom is an expert in applying the science of natural products to enhancing human health.

After 25 years with Pharmavite, Ms. Joseph recently retired from her position as vice president of quality, technical operations and product development where she directed and supervised the company’s quality control laboratories, the research and development of test methods, and new product development.

Her involvement with CRN spanned more than two decades and included involvement on a number of committees including the Quality Standards and the GMP Readiness Working Group. Ms. Joseph is considered one of the industry’s leading forces in creating standards by which all dietary supplements are now measured. She intends to remain active in industry affairs, maintaining a consultancy with Pharmavite, and serving as chair of the Dietary Supplements, Nonbotanicals Expert Committee, and as a member of the Council of Experts Executive Committee.

For the past ten years, Dr. Hathcock has served as vice president, scientific and international affairs at CRN. He is responsible for scientific review and regulatory interpretation, specializing in safety and international issues. In addition to publishing numerous peer-reviewed scientific articles, he is the author of CRN’s Vitamin and Mineral Safety. Dr. Hathcock regularly presents at major national and international conferences on food safety and regulatory issues, analyzes and develops CRN policy positions, and speaks on international regulations and issues, including those pertaining to the Codex Alimentarius and the European Commission. He serves as staff liaison for the CRN International Trade and Market Development Committee, and is well-known for his opinions on the "precautionary principle."

Past CRN Apple award winners include: Marjorie Fine, Shaklee Corporation and Peter Barton Hutt, Covington & Burling (2004); Paul Bolar, Pharmavite LLC and Joe LaPlaca, DSM Nutritional Products, Inc. (2003); Bill Van Dyke, B&D Nutritional Products, Inc., Harvey Kamil, NBTY, Inc. and Verna Breland, CRN (2002); Evelyn Jarvis-Ferris, Shaklee Corporation and Salavatore Palladino, BASF Corporation (2000).

The Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN), founded in 1973, is a Washington, D.C.-based trade association representing dietary supplement industry ingredient suppliers and manufacturers. CRN members adhere to a strong code of ethics, comply with dosage limits and manufacture dietary supplements to high quality standards under good manufacturing practices. For more information on CRN, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.