National Coalition of Philanthropists to Confer Second Leadership Award on Champion of Integrative Medicine

(Minneapolis, Minn.) –- Seeking ways to return the soul to medicine and ground healing in a holistic understanding of mind, body and spirit, a coalition of philanthropists founded The Bravewell Leadership Award in 2002. The program was created to recognize the key leaders of integrative medicine whose work is helping to transform healthcare. Ralph Snyderman, MD, Chancellor Emeritus of Duke University, was the first recipient of the $100,000 award. Today, the Bravewell Collaborative announced its plans to honor a second recipient.

The Collaborative is now accepting self-nominations for the second Bravewell Leadership Award, which will be conferred in November, 2005 and includes a cash prize of $100,000. Nominations will be accepted through March 31, 2005.

“The 2005 award will be given to one individual who embodies the spirit, courage, and vision necessary to inspire transformation of the nation’s healthcare system and whose contributions have significantly advanced integrative medicine,” said Penny George of the Bravewell Collaborative.

To be eligible for self-nomination, an individual must be a physician or doctoral-level health professional. Additional eligibility criteria, terms, and nomination forms can be accessed at

The Bravewell Collaborative is an operating foundation created by a small group of philanthropists committed to strategically advancing the field of integrative medicine.

# # #

Matt Russell
(520) 232-9840
[email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.