New Board Members Elected at CRN 2005 Annual Conference

WASHINGTON, D.C., September 26, 2005 — Eight companies earned a seat on the Council for Responsible Nutrition’s (CRN) Board of Directors, joining 18 other executives on the 26-seat board. CRN Chairman Chuck Brice, Kemin Health, presented his new Board to the CRN membership during the business meeting held today at The Conference, CRN’s annual symposium on dietary supplements, at the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort and Spa in Indian Wells, Calif.

The newly elected CRN Board members comprise both returning members: David Eckert (Cognis Nutrition & Health); Steven Furcich (Archer Daniels Midland Company); Richard Godfrey (Swiss Caps USA, Inc.); Edwin Kamauoha (Pharmanex LLC); Bill Van Dyke (B&D Nutritional Alternatives International, Inc.); Ted Ziemann (Cargill Health & Food Technologies ); and two executives beginning their first terms: Kristen Blanchard (Nutramax Laboratories, Inc.); and Don Stanek (Linnea, Inc.). These Board members will begin a three-year term effective with the December 2005 Board meeting.

They will join the following seated Board members: Michael Bradley (Perrigo Company); Chuck Brice (Kemin Health L.C.); Samuel Caster (Mannatech, Inc.); David Christensen (Bayer Corporation); Andy Davis (Wyeth Consumer Health); Patrick Dunn (Leiner Health Products, Inc.); Tom Elitharp (Schiff Nutrition International, Inc.); Marjorie Fine (Shaklee Corporation); Jeff Hinrichs (Nutraceutical Corporation); Byron Johnson (Access Business Group/Nutrilite); Harvey Kamil (NBTY, Inc.); Mark LeDoux (Natural Alternatives International, Inc.); David Sullivan (General Nutrition Centers, Inc.); John Venardos (Herbalife International of America, Inc.); Tom Zimmerman (Pharmavite LLC); Joseph LaPlaca (DSM Nutritional Products, Inc.); and Folker Ruchatz (BASF Corporation). CRN President and Chief Executive Officer Steve Mister also holds a seat on the Board.

The CRN Board also approved a revised slate of Board officers to work directly with Chuck Brice as follows: Marjorie Fine (Shaklee Corporation), chair elect; Tom Zimmerman (Pharmavite LLC), treasurer; and Mark LeDoux (Natural Alternatives International, Inc.), secretary. In addition, Byron Johnson (Access Business Group/Nutrilite), serves as immediate past chairman.

The Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN), founded in 1973, is a Washington, D.C.-based trade association representing dietary supplement industry ingredient suppliers and manufacturers. CRN members adhere to a strong code of ethics, comply with dosage limits and manufacture dietary supplements to high quality standards under good manufacturing practices. For more information on CRN, visit

Judy Blatman

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.