Natural Foods Merchandiser
Get to know the gluten-free grains

Get to know the gluten-free grains

Oats are gluten free, but they sometimes get contaminated with gluten grains during processing. Certain manufacturers now offer gluten-free oats.

Buckwheat sounds like wheat, but it’s actually a gluten-free grain.

Distilled grains may have started out as a gluten grain, but once they are distilled into an alcohol or vinegar, they become gluten free.

Soy and corn are gluten free, but they can trigger allergic reactions in sensitive individuals.

Potato flour is becoming a common wheat replacement in gluten-free breads.

Rice is a standard go-to for gluten-free diets, but quinoa and millet cook similarly and can enliven a recipe.

Source: Stephen Wangen, MD, author of Healthier Without Wheat (Innate Health Publishing, 2009)

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.