Sabinsa Corporation Founder Receives Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Dr. Muhammed Majeed Recognized for Lifelong Service

PISCATAWAY, NJ, May 13, 2004 -- Dr. Muhammed Majeed, founder and CEO of Sabinsa Corporation, a manufacturer and supplier of herbal extracts and specialty fine chemicals, was chosen by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) to receive its prestigious Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

This award, which is sanctioned by the U.S. Congress, is presented to Americans of diverse origins to recognize their leadership, commitment and service to their own ethnic group and to American society. Dr. Majeed will be presented with the medal at a gala event to be held May 15th, 2004, on Ellis Island, New York.

"I am very proud to receive this honor and be recognized for the work I do here in the United States and in India," said Dr. Majeed. "I believe strongly in NECO's mission to preserve and celebrate ethnic diversity, and to promote advancement and tolerance among all ethnic groups."

Muhammed Majeed was born and raised in Kerala, India. He emigrated to the United States in 1975, shortly after graduating with a degree in pharmacy from Kerala University. Upon arriving in the United States, Majeed began working for top pharmaceutical companies including Pfizer, Inc., Carter Wallace and Paco Research in progressively responsible research positions. He also continued his graduate studies, receiving his Ph.D. in Industrial Pharmacy from St. John's University, New York in 1986.

In 1988, Dr. Majeed founded Sabinsa Corporation, a company that has brought to market more than thirty standardized botanical extracts, several of which are derived from Indian based plant materials, for use in various supplements and products. Additionally, he established SAMI Labs Ltd., a research group and manufacturing facility located in India that operates in conjunction with Sabinsa to develop nutraceuticals and fine chemicals.

The Ellis Island Medal of Honor was created in 1986 to pay tribute to the many ancestral groups who through struggle, sacrifice and success helped build the United States into a great nation, and to recognize individuals who continue that tradition today. Previous recipients of the Ellis Island Medal of Honor include: former presidents Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, George Bush and Bill Clinton, Nobel Prize winner Elie Wiesel, Bob Hope, Rudy Giuliani and Muhammad Ali.

# # #

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.